If I Killed Snoop Dog.

October 22, 2008 3:36 p.m.

It's 8am which is always too early in my book. I am not a morning person at all and waking up to the annoying buzzing of my infernal alarm clock already makes me mumble and grumble as I go to smack my "snooze" button. Six minutes later I finally wake up after my very enjoyable snooze session and realize, like most days, I'm gonna be late...


Normally this means I speed (45mph) down my paved dead end road. Today was different. Today I went about 35mph (the correct speed limit). As I am driving I see an elderly man going to put mail in his mailbox, I veered to the left to make sure I was clear of him- this way if his feeble self trips and falls or something I would have a clear conscience knowing I wouldn't run over someone's Grandpa.


In doing this little maneuver, I started to veer back to the right and all of a sudden I see this White German Sheppard run right in front of me alongside with his little Jack Russell mutt friend, I slammed my breaks but- BAM! I hit him! I heard a yelp of pain and swung my door open, as soon as I went to step out of my car I see the little mutt start running (he's ok) and then the white Sheppard darts out from under my car, obviously he has some internal injuries, but no blood. He starts to run, but is definitely limping. Anyhow, I waited as I watched them run off towards a retention pond.

I waited to see if anyone would flag me down or at least tell me whose dogs those were. Nothing. No one came. I went on my way to work, because God forbid I am late to work because I hit a dog, that would not be a reasonable excuse for Hitler, I mean, my boss. So basically, I could be a dog killer. I feel very bad about it, but hopefully he's okay and his owners will keep them both in the yard! Looking back on that- it amazes me how fast that dog could run with an obvious broken bone, that's almost like Rin-Tin-Tin or somethin'....


Lesson to Pet Owners: Don't be an idiot... put your dog on a damn leash!


Lesson to Sommer: Never veer for old men, it's better if you hit grandpa, then Snoop Dog.