Can't I Just Collect Social Security?

February 21, 2003 3:28 a.m.

Yesterday was job hunting. It was not only a big waste of time, but pointless. My mom drove around and pointed some stores out like Staples, Office Depot, and the Dollar General. I just told her �Give me some credit!� Then she complained the whole time while driving because I wasn�t going in to the stores she had pointed out.

Geeze, she must not comprehend how second rate those places would be. I�m surprised she didn�t ask if I wanted to work at �Star Motel�, which is the shittiest hotel in all of Ocala. They�re usually being busted for prostitution. But anyhow, we stopped to get some groceries at Win-Dixie, and my mom pointed out, how �This would be a good place to work.� (she said this knowing my hatred for grocery stores).

Our cashier was some homely looking girl, and I asked her, very blatantly, �Do you like working here?� She was hesitant to answer but her final response was��Yeah, it�s alright.� Of course I knew she was lying through her teeth. Me- �You�re not just saying that because you have to, are you?� Her- �Well, my district manager is here.� Well that was all I had to hear, I was headed towards the door and my mom stopped the cart and told me to get an application.

And damnit! I have an interview tomorrow! Sommer G. will not work in a grocery store. Heh 1st person is always fun. I also applied at Blockbuster, but I did that from the internet. A 40 minute application! I better get that job after that wasted time. Today I�m supposed to go again, but I don�t think I will. It�s Friday, I�ll wait until Monday.

I missed the REAL Michael Jackson interview last night. I�m kind of pissed about that. But I did get some rather funny news from my best friend back home, Holly. I can�t remember if I ever posted the story about her hitting a blind man that was J-walking. Well that�s that story in a nutshell.

Last night she called me and she was obviously upset. Her- �Sommer, you�ll never believe what just happened�. Me- �You�ve hit a blind guy, I think I can believe �what just happened�. Her- �Okay well I was driving along trying to get into my turn lane and I noticed a cop behind be, but I thought he was just waiting to go like the rest of us. So I didn�t think anything of it, and I kept waiting for my chance to turn. Then the cop turned on his siren, and I had no idea what he was trying to do. All of a sudden he pulls up next to me, rolls down his window and says �You have got to be the dumbest mother fucker alive�, and then sped off! So I cussed him out and flicked him off. The other people in their cars were looking at me like I was insane!�

That was the funniest thing I heard in a long time. Of course it was a Detroit cop, and I wouldn�t expect anything more from them. Wow this entry is getting to be pretty long I doubt anyone reads this far anyway. But if you are reading this far, you�re awesome, but it�s time for me to go, I�ve rambled long enough.

Quote of the Moment: "Oh, you hate your job? Why didn't you say so? There's a support group for that. It's called EVERYBODY, and they meet at the bar." --Drew Carey