Here, But Broke.

August 11, 2005 3:02 a.m.

We made it, and like I said, it only took 6.5 hours. 6.5 hours of sheer boredom following behind the U-Haul. I recorded myself singing on my phone, that's how bored I was; lets just say American Idol is not in my close nor distant future. Being here, I've had my first experience with dial-up in a long time. I went to check my email this morning, it was God awful, I felt like I was back in 1996 with the horrible connecting noises... Ah well, I can't be picky I guess, at least they have a computer! My biggest complaint so far is the $196.00 in gas it took to get here! so in total we paid $598.00 to move here. Such crap, $2.37 a gallon (which is cheap compared to some other places)!

Why are people buying huge SUV's/hummers/big ass trucks? Riding style over partial financial freedom I suppose. Why not get a more fuel efficient car? I swear Americans are too self-indulging for their own good. We will continue to pay these outrageous gas prices because we would rather drive the 50 feet to the corner store than take a short walk. No one is willing to make sacrafices anymore. If we were to tell people they had to walk to their destinations that were less than a mile away we'd have an uprising on our hands! We're too spoiled, too selfish and willing to cave into whatever the hell the gas prices are, because we're not willing to make any small sacrafices.

Unlike what we saw back in the 1970 and 80's, the price of gas in not headed back down!! And remember, not all wages and salaries have been adjusted for inflation and the current high cost of gas does have a dramatic effect on them. For example, just look at minimum wage and that last time it was raised.. Exactly. What we a witnessing is the peak of oil production and the downward slope is not going to be an easy one. Imagine that in as little as 20 years, the world will have used mostof its known "recoverable oil reserves" and have to do without.. What's your world going to look like without oil?

My guess is that within 5-10 years, this country is going to be in a world of hurt because of our dependence on oil. So here's an idea: Stay home, carpool, shop online, etc, etc, etc... I know, it's asking too much, isn't it...?

And I Quote: "See, in my line of work you got to keep repeating things over and over and over again for the truth to sink in, to kind of catapult the propaganda." �George W. Bush, Greece, N.Y., May 24, 2005