Clearly, I am going insane.

July 10, 2008 4:12 p.m.



I feel like I'm slowly losing my damn mind. If I tell him what is true his feelings are hurt. If I hide my feelings then it is only I that hold onto the burden of what is scratching at my insides to get out.

Does honesty help a relationship or it hurts a relationship? This question bothers many of us, especially me. When it comes to revealing something serious. Shall I tell him? What if things go wrong? How to tell? What if I do not tell and just hide emotions and feelings for just a little longer? So many questions hammer us when we want to hide truth. And revealing truth may be equally serious in our opinion. So what should be done?

In my opinion, if we are not completely honest and open with our other half, that means we are not sure about our relationship. That means that we do not have confidence in each other. That means that the relationship is fragile. Why worry about a relationship, which is fragile? Because a relationship will break for some or other reason if you don't.

A strong relationship can take any storm. In a strong relationship, we are ready for some disagreement but know that ultimately things will be same as before. In a strong relationship we are totally open with each other. We tell everything to our partner and are sure that no break-up will occur. Such relationship gives joy.

So why do I feel like such crap? I told the truth, I was honest and delicate as I could be... but what if everything just starts to unravel and fall apart?

If you hide something from your love you will always suffer from the guilt and worry about what if he/she gets to know about that. That is not a happy relationship. Such relationships cause stress, rather than giving any pleasure. To get pleasure, we have to have confidence, tell our partner everything about our past, and expect that they will not only understand but also comfort you about that. That is the sign of a open and strong relationship.

So all my cards have been dealt in front of him... now what? I suppose only time will tell. I just wish it didn't hurt him so bad!

No, it's not what you're thinking.