Puppyhood.

July 02, 2008 2:39 p.m.



Ava (my French Bulldog female I bought last weekend)- got VERY sick last night. Almost deathly sick, she was lathargic, wouldn't eat and shaking! I wanted to take her to the emergency vet, but when I called the emergency vet I was told it would cost X amount of dollars and it all had to be paid at once, and I didn't even have half of what they wanted, so I took her to my vet first thing this morning. She had all the signs of Parvovirus, so of course I am freaked out (parvovirus is VERY hard to get rid of and is a deadly viral desease!) And me being a breeder, well that's just not good to have around my other dogs.

Both her blood and fecal flotation tested negative for Parvo Thank GOD! But now she is sick and it's a mystery why she is so sick. She is currently hospitalized at my vets with a catahter running fluids into her body, because she is so dehydrated. And of course when I looked closer at her "health record" I got when I purchased her and no vet ever signed her paper stating she was vaccinated against any puppyhood deases! The people I bought her from are not answering my calls. I have such a huge headache. And to top it all off Major (my frenchie male) is going in tomorrow to get his last set of shots. I am really concerned for him because that was his roomate, so I'm making sure he's okay and doesn't get sick like her! I hope she pulls through :(

Major also thinks he can swim. We have an above ground pool, and it's disgusting right now because our pump is broke, literally our pool is a dark green with frogs in it... I wouldn't subject anyonbe to seeing it right now lol well Mike and I were watching a movie and we hear howling coming from outside... it was Major. He managed to dive into the pool and was crying because he didn't know how to get out.

French Bulldogs *shakes head* what am I thinking?!


On another note have a good 4th of July!