A Lump in the Carpet.

June 23, 2008 3:29 p.m.



Wow that headline sounds "dirty" ...

Tuesday Mike and I decided that we were going to finish installing our hard wood flooring (a beautiful Brazilian Cherry) we of course had to remove the ugly purple-ish carpet that the previous owners had installed. We begin lifting and pulling and rolling... Mike stops me and says "Sommer! Come look at this!" of course with the tone of his voice being so tense; my immediate reaction was � fear. I replied with �Is it going to scare me?� He said �Probably�

I go over to look where he lifts the corner of the carpet and reveals, a LIVING snake! I said �oh shit!� Grabbed my phone and called the wildlife rescue AKA my mom. She arrives with absolutely nothing and asked where it is. I pointed to the corner of the carpet where you could clearly see it was tattered from where we were previously pulling. She lifts back the corner of the carpet and just grabs the snake like she�s Steve Irwin! There was no pause,you know, like a normal person would have done. She just grabbed it like she dropped an apple or something and was picking it up... Obviously our fears are not similar.

The snake was White with orange circles and had a checkered belly, it turns out it was a Red Rat Snake� regardless it did not belong in the house! My mom was about to leave to release the snake but I made her wait until the rest of the carpet was taken out, I can�t risk more snakes! Eeeek! Thankfully there was no more snakes.

How it got into the house still remains a mystery. A mystery that I would like to be solved.