Tell It Like It Is.

October 2, 2008 3:23 p.m.

I was flipping through the channels last Sunday and there was this weird new show on called 60 Minutes. It was mostly political and depressing and yappy-yappy. But there was this one part at the end, where this really old guy talked about what was in his kitchen drawers. And it was hilarious!!!! That guy, Mickey Rooney was his name I think, really just told like it was. And it got me thinking, I need to tell it like it was too.

I have a lot of stuff in my desk and I can't figure out what it's all doing there. I have an inbox plus an outbox. The inbox is filled with papers that I'm supposed to look at, but it gets so full, that I usually put the important junk in my outbox. Except, someone is always emptying it before I have a chance to look at it. What I really want is an Xbox. The video game system. That would be sweet.

I have close to 100 fortunes from fortune cookies in my desk. Packer and I went out for Chinese food and he taught me this great game where you add the words "in bed" to the end of your fortune (it sounds complicated, but it's easy to play). Anyway, ever since that fateful day, every fortune has become a valued treasure, especially, "Plan for many pleasures ahead IN BED." I wonder how you say, "that's what she said," in Chinese.

I also found a bunch of unapproved vacation request forms (boring), a list of new companies from the chamber of commerce (snoozeville), and one of those gigantic jawbreakers that I started a few years ago and always meant to come back to (still tasty). So long story short, if you're like me, you accumulate a bunch of crap in your desk, and most of it is a total waste of time to even look at, but it's good to keep around, because you never know when you might need it. As the Chinese say, "you can always find happiness at work on Friday IN BED!" But not if you throw your happiness in the trash.