Dear PJ,

December 20, 2005 1:13 p.m.



Dear Peter Jackson,
Saturday I purchased tickets to see what all the buzz was about behind King Kong. I'm not sure if I liked the movie or not. I feel like if I don't like it than it's kind of like saying I don�t like Lord of the Rings either, but that is not the case, but somehow your films have that immense pressure on me to watch them all, or be banned from the Lord of the Ring likers. So instead of carrying the heavy burden I decided that I'd let you know which parts bugged me so that when the DVD is released, maybe you can talk about what really should not have remained a mystery or should just not have happened all together...

I'll start with, in the beginning. Why did it just drag on and on, when you know none of us came to see Naomi Watts? We want to see the KONG, but NOOO that took over an hour! The entire movie was way too long! Jack Black's character was a complete douche in that movie, I wanted to stab him, and I love Jack Black so, now I look at him in a different light, thanks. Though the part that hurt me worse was Lumpy... He was one of my favorites and one of the breavest! Couldn't he have had a more honorable death then to be eaten alive by over-sized slugs with razor sharp teeth? I think so! And WHY Adrien Brody? I couldn't even concentrate on the movie, all I saw was NOSE. Everyone makes mistakes so I suppose I can let it slide... this time.

And the end of the movie, again, dragged on and on, just when I thought it was over something else would happen! Well I had never seen the original so I was kind of hoping Kong would somehow live to see his land again, but alas he didn't, and I felt a tear swelling in the back of my eye lid for the poor beast, good job on touching the audiences heart, but I still stand firm that it was way too long (3 hours and some odd minutes), and that's probably because I had to go the pee the entire time. You should consider our bladders next time you try to top Lord of the Rings; have some sort of intermission!

I do realize you don't want to go back to your Frightners days so you stick with long epic movies. Next movie though, please make it straight to rental, or consider my intermission idea...

Sincerely,
Still liked Lord of the Rings better,
Sommer.

And I Quote: [seeing a footprint that Kong has left] "There's only one thing in the world that could have done this... the Abominable Snowman." -Lumpy the Cook; King Kong