A Little Rant.

June 08, 2006 5:17 p.m.

Just one more week until we're able to move and only two more weeks until I have my new puppy home! I've decided to name her Bella... It was going to just be belle, but I thought that was a little plain.

I've been on myspace a lot lately, every time I go on there I have like 10 messages I missed. That website is growing so fast, and I'm hoping it's just a fad that will soon disappear; I worry about the kids that are on there. My little sister has a Myspace, which freaks me out, she said a lot of her friends will say they're 15 and up so that they don't have to have a private profile, because myspace is trying to take precautions and protect the youth.

It really is frightening. I'm constantly checking her myspace to make sure she is being vague. Well my sister was over for dinner and swimming and we were watching Dateline and they had a special on "cutting" (Repetitive self-mutilation is a disorder in which people intentionally harm themselves by cutting, burning, or scratching their bodies. Sticking oneself with needles, punching or slapping the face, and swallowing harmful substances include other forms.) I don't see how anyone can stomach that, but it turns out from a recent study 1 in 4 teens do it or know someone who does. Scary statistics there. So I asked Alexis "Do you know anyone who "cuts"? She said oh yeah, even one of her best friends does it from time to time.

My next question was "Do you?" She said no, she thinks it's stupid. Good answer. We have a very open relationship like that, even though there is a 10 year age gap she knows she can come to me with anything. Parenting in todays society amazes me too! Why are parents not talking to their children about predators, sex, self-injury, drug use, etc... These are topics that should be openly discussed to help protect your children! Learn the facts, talk to your children! I couldn't even imagine bringing a child into this world right now and the way it is.

In a way I want to though, so I can tell them about what I know and they can tell someone else. If you are a parent or a soon-to-be parent, let your child know that No question is a stupid question. I've ranted enough, I actually have a headache from thinking about it.