Balance.

October 22, 2004 11:46 a.m.

I have to close my store tonight; I'm really not looking forward to it. We stay open until one in the morning and I don't exactly work in the best side of town... not that there presumably is a best side of town� Not only is there a chance every night that someone is lurking by the trees waiting to mug the closing CSR and I, but there is also a store manager that loves the morning hours. So once I close and leave the store at about 1:30 am I will have to be right back to work at 7:30am for a mandatory store meeting.

I use to look forward to going to work and seeing everyone, but now that I feel like I have a life with more important things in it, these things that require my attention, sometimes my immediate attention. I feel conflicted between having a life and having a job. I just want to have both, unfortunately my bills want one more than the other. About 85% of Americans probably struggle with the same thing; balancing work and family.

I�m taking a promotion at work that will require me to have an open schedule work a minimum of 35 hours a week and take on a lot more responsibility. I�m sort of intimidated by the thought; I wish I could just work part time there. I�m more afraid of not having time for Mike more than anything. He�s the best thing that�s happened to me in a long time and I don�t want to jeopardize that with working long hours and coming home in a foul mood.

I told my mom all of this today and her advice to me was not to be afraid of not having time for Mike, but to make time for myself and in turn that will make time for him. I�m not exactly sure how that will work, I�m not sure I even understand it� I think I do. It�s kind of like taking advice from Yoda; it�s confusing, yet it makes sense.

Quote of the Moment: �The golden opportunity you are seeking is in yourself. It is not in your environment; it is not in luck or chance, or the help of others; it is in yourself alone.� --Orison Swett Marden