Musical Preference.

July 14, 2003 2:29 p.m.

All work and no play leaves little time for an internet life. I also had no internet connection; our house was zapped by lightning, no joke. It screwed up all our phones and our stove. Luckily I unplugged my computer, and all my other expensive electronics, but that did not save our cable connection. Florida is the lightning capital, and I�m smack dab in the middle of this forsaken state. In Michigan all I had to worry about was getting snowed in (and that wasn�t a bad thing). It�s a big change, but I�m learning to cope.

Working at Blockbuster has had its share of highlights. The most recent was a 14-16 year old girl came in wearing a Good Charlotte hat. She was being really obnoxious talking about how things always hit her in the face and how monkeys eat at her head. Yeah I know, juvenile, obnoxious, annoying, kiddy stuff. So she just left that door wide open for me, and I said "It�s because you�re wearing a Good Charlotte hat". The poor little girl nearly had a heart attack. I think it boggled her that someone in this teeny-bopping town didn�t like Good Charlotte.

She went as far as to show me her GC wallet. Oi, what has the music industry done? No offense to any GC fans� It�s just a musical preference, and I exclude them out of mine.

Quote of the Moment: �Do I listen to pop music because I'm miserable or am I miserable because I listen to pop music?� --Rob Gordon; High Fidelity