She's Brilliant.

July 08, 2003 1:14 a.m.

Hah, another ten hour shift to add to my paycheck. Even with that extra money, I definitely won�t be bringing a new car home any time soon.� From those two lines sprouted an hour long conversation with my best friend Holly. It was most intriguing. She is pursuing a job as an x-ray technician, and trying to be one of the 15 picked to be in the class.

It doesn�t seem like too bad of a job. Though I don�t think I could handle the smell of the hospitals; the entire environment just repulses me. She asked what my goals for the future were. My reply: I�m really not quite sure, I never know what life altering event will happen from day to day. And I hated that response, I hated that I was not able to give a straight forward answer. I hate that I let myself avoid thinking about such vital questions.

I would love to be a film producer, but that is a tough life, you always have to have an alternative back up plan in case something falls through. We talked about careers, and housing, books and student loans. I loved every second of it. I love Holly, she�s so brilliant (she won�t let herself believe that), and she knows what she wants out of life and she sets her mind to get it. She�s not afraid to be her own person. Like I said, she�s brilliant. She has my admiration and respect. If only I was to be so ambitious and motivated.

Quote of the Moment: "Learn the past, watch the present, and create the future." --Jesse Conrad