Give Me Money.

November 06, 2005 4:52 p.m.


This was an older entry i just found that I never got around to posting! It was back in the days of pain... the days without internet, one month ago.

As I said earlier, I quit my job and now have to work at the Buster, Blockbuster to all you non-lingo knowers. Blockbuster thought that I was still working at my other job too, so I got the whole weekend off. They also said that they were not going to hire me as Assistant Store Manager again, I would have to be a Shift Leader and make $8.00 an hour, which was taking a $2 cut from what I was making there just 4 months ago! I was pissed but needed a job and agreed, and got hired on as a rehire. Apparently the reason I wasn't being rehired at my old position is because one of the other Store Managers told our District Manager that I was basically useless. I think it was David, he's the only manager I can think of that would say that, which is fucked up because I trained him for his position. Fucker. And he just so happens to be the District Managers favorite, so she believed him.

Yesterday my Store Manager called me�

My Store Manager: What would I need to do to get you to work here for 35 hours [of course I'm still fibbing and saying I have another job.] Or I can even give you 40 hours�

Me: I would not need just 35 hours, I would need 40 hours a week and full-time benefits, be in the system as full time!

My Store Manager: Okay let me call Debbie [the district manager] see what I can do�

One hour later

My Store Manager: Hey Miss.Sommer, I spoke with Debbie, she happened to be at your old store when I called her.

Me: Yeah? So what's going on?

My Store Manager: Well Christina [my old store manager] was there at the store with Debbie and I told Debbie, you wanted to be a full-time ASM [assistant store manager], Christina kept saying "Sommer, would run circles around Bonnie" [the other ASM] and "Sommer would love to be full-time at Blockbuster again, she's an excellent employee."

Me: Well, that was nice of her to say.

My Store Manager: So Debbie asked Christina how much money you were making as an ASM before you left for Georgia, so Christina told her and Debbie said "Okay so hire her in at her old pay rate and promote her to ASM."

Me: Yesssss! Thanks Lydia, tell Traci I said thanks for quitting too, otherwise I couldn't have had the promotion.

My Store Manager: Your welcome but I can't tell her that.

So yeah I guess all that shit that David talked really didn�t have a big effect on Debbie, or maybe she changed her mind because Christina was saying all this nice stuff about me? Either way I'm so happy that I'll be getting my old wages back! It can pay for my school and it'll make things easier with getting up-to-date with bill paying! Okay well that's all.